Play #032 Six Permission-Based Cold Call Openers

Cold Calling is NOT dead

Welcome to the Play #032 of the Sales Transformation Newsletter. Each week I will bring you one Sales play that is tested through scaling multiple 7-figure B2B businesses that you can put into action to scale your business.

This Sales play is sponsored by Leadium, which provides growth-stage companies with done-for-you top-of-funnel services. Leadium has been trusted by over 500 companies and has driven growth for 76 companies that were acquired, $6.5 billion in total funding, and 5 IPOs. 

No, cold calling is NOT dead.

It’s alive and well as a vital part of your go-to-market strategy.

Some of the GURUS out there will try to tell you there is a silver bullet opener.

And the truth is that there is not. What matters most is the one that you are most confident delivering.

This is because how you say things in a cold call matters more than what you say.

So don’t be scared to try new openers with your team, and let everyone have the autonomy to choose which works best for them.

Here is a list of six of my favorites that you can try:

  1. Hey {Prospect Name} - This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}.
    I know you weren't expecting my call, but do you have half a minute so
    I can tell you exactly why I cold called you today?.... [chuckle and pause]

  2. Hey {Prospect Name} - This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}. 
    This is a cold call, but if you give me thirty seconds, I can tell you why I called. Would that be okay?

  3. Hey {Prospect Name} - This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}. 
    How have you been? Great, I’m actually calling you for the first time, but would it be okay to explain why I thought it was a good idea to call you today?

  4. Hey {Prospect Name} - This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}. 
    I know you weren't expecting my call, but can I tell you why I called,
    and you can decide if it's worth continuing to chat?

  5. Hey {Prospect Name} - This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}, and this is a cold call. I’m sure you want to hang up, but can you give me a minute to explain why I called?

  6. Is this {Prospect Name} - Great! This is {Your Name} with {Your Company}. I'm actually calling to introduce my company when
    I’m not calling you out of the blue. Do you have a minute?

The phone is still the most powerful tool, and with a solid strategy, you and your team can book more meetings over the phone than any other channel. I know this firsthand after scaling four companies with three exits; each time, the phone was a huge reason for our success.

See you again next week.

-Collin Mitchell

Reply

or to participate.